Day 28: I want to be a paperback writer

Standard

What is your biggest dream in life (what one great thing do you want to accomplish)?

My biggest dream is to be a published author. The thought of walking into a store or a library and picking up a book with my name on it, knowing that this creation came out of my head makes me feel tingly all over. I always imagine that I’ll publish a moderately successful book that starts to slide into obscurity when one day, a person will meet me on a bus or on the train or something like that. And they’ll say, “Are you Chido Muchemwa? I loved your book. It got me through some tough times.” That has to be one of the best feelings in the world, having someone tell you that something you wrote helped them get through some things.

Yes, I want to be a writer :-)

3 thoughts on “Day 28: I want to be a paperback writer

  1. Do you have ideas of what you might like your first or one of your books to be about? I’m assuming fiction, yes?

    • I’ve been carrying around an idea for a novel since I was 18. Every 6 months or so, I pull out my outline and make some changes to it, but I may yet to pluck up enough courage to begin. It may not be my first published novel, but I’m sure it will be the first I write. The main character has been living in my head for so long that I feel like I owe him his story. No one should have to be subjected to living in my crazy head, even if they are an imaginary character.

Leave a Reply

